27/01/2015 The new Social Economy Intergroup has been officially constituted

The new Social Economy Intergroup has been officially constituted today in Brussels. A new bureau formed by 5 co-chairs and 2 vice-chairs has been also elected by the members.

 Jens Nilsson (S&D-Sweden), Ramón Luis Valcárcel (EPP-Spain), Beatriz Becerra (ALDE-Spain), Marie- Christine Vergiat (GUE/NGL- France) and Sven Giegold (GREENS/EFA-Germany) have been elected today as the new co-chairs of the Social Economy Intergrgoup. Furthermore Ms. Sofía Ribeiro (EPP-Portugal) and Ms. Elena Gentile (S&D-Italy) have been elected as vice-chairs of the SEIG.  Mr. Jens Nilsson will assume the coordination of the bureau.

 The bureau plans to organise two public hearings this spring on the inclusion of the social economy among the political priorities of the European Commission for this new period. In order to ensure the development and visibility of the social economy, the SEIG aims to formulate concrete proposals to the European Commission.

 Before these hearings the members of the bureau will send a collective letter to several EU Commissioner and Officials aiming to identify the political partners of the sector and of the Intergroup in the new European Commission.

 The name of the Intergroup remains the same but a subtitle has been added: “social enterprises, social entrepreneurship and third sector”. Despite this addition we’ll continue calling it Social Economy Intergroup. Read here the full press release